Worth knowing

Worth knowing - Lilly Artists oilpaint

Worth knowing - Lilly Artists oilpaint

... On the subject of oil paints

Paint made from pigments and oil, probably had the greatest impact on the development off artistic painting in the past. Even though oil based paints are known to be used from the 5th century on, the more popular usage for artistic reaons started in the 13th century. 

Originally artist or their apprentices grinded their own colors. Depending on the properties of pigments used, these colors were triturated with different binders and additives such as linseed oil, walnut oil, egg emulsions or resins. This allowed each artist to adapt the colors to the individual requirements and at the same time ensure the best quality.

While in the Italian Renaissance mainly walnut oil was used as a binder for pigments, north of the Alps linseed oil came into use as a binder. Over time, linseed oil has become increasingly popular due to its lower price and becaues walnut oil had the tendency to become rancid. Even though some painters such as Vasari recommended walnut oil as the oil superior oil, since it yellowes less and also enables richer, more vivid colors.
Painters such as Van Eyck, Duerer, Da Vinci, Titian, Michelangelo, Rembrandt, Rubens and Van Dyck, but later also Corot and Degas used walnut oil in their colors.

In the late 19th century poppy seed oil was popular as a binder, because the slow drying time of oil poppy came to meet the painting style of the Impressionists. Today also sunflower oil or safflower oil are used instead of poppy oil.

When the availability of finished oil paints became more and more poular, artist gave the centrury long tradition of manufacturing their own oil paints up to specialized color makers. This way artists could now devote more time to their art.

 


Pigments

Pigments are generally divided into organic and inorganic pigment types.

Drying time

Pigments are usually divided into 3 groups with respect to their drying properties.

Lightfastness

With two exceptions (PR 83.1 and PY3) we offer only pigments with light-fastness I (woolscale 7-8).

Wissenswertes

Wissenswertes über Lilly Künstler Ölfarben

Wissenswertes über Lilly Künstler Ölfarben

 

... zum Thema Ölfarben

Farben aus Pigment und Öl hergestellt, hatten wohl den größten Einfluss auf die Entwicklung der Malerei, sie wurden zu künstlerischen Zwecken bereits im 13. Jahrhundert verwendet. Ursprünglich fertigten Künstler (oder Lehrlinge) ihre eigenen Farben mit den von Ihnen gekauften Pigmenten an.  
Abhängig von den Eigenschaften der verwendeten Pigmente wurden diese Farben mit unterschiedlichen Bindemitteln und Zusätzen wie Leinöl, Walnussöl, Ei-Emulsionen (Tempera) oder Harzen angerieben. Dadurch konnte jeder Künstler die Farben den jeweiligen Anforderungen anpassen und gleichzeitig die bestmögliche Farbqualität sichern.
 
Während in der italienischen Renaissance vorwiegend Walnussöl als Bindemittel für die Pigmente verwendet wurde, kam nördlich der Alpen Leinöl als Bindemittel zum Einsatz. Im Laufe der Zeit wurde Leinöl aufgrund seines niedrigen Preises immer populärer, obwohl einige Maler wie etwa  Vasari Walnussöl als das bessere Öl bezeichneten, da es weniger vergilbt und auch sattere und lebendigere Farben ermöglicht.

Maler wie Van Eyck, Dürer, Da Vinci, Titian, Michelangelo, Rembrandt, Rubens und Van Dyck, aber später auch Corot oder Degas benutzten Walnussöl in ihren Farben.

Gegen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts wurde Mohnöl als weiteres Bindemittel populär, da die langsame Trocknungszeit von Mohnöl dem Malstil der Impressionisten entgegenkam. Heutzutage kommen auch Sonnenblumenöl oder Distelöl zum Einsatz.

Als fertige Ölfarben hergestellt wurden, gaben Künstler die Tradition der Ölfarbenherstellung an spezielle Farbmacher ab. Künstler konnten sich nun zur Gänze der Malerei widmen.  

 


Pigmente

Farbpigmente werden grundsätzlich in organische und anorganische Pigmenttypen eingeteilt. 
 

Trocknungszeit

Pigmente werden üblicherweise in 3 Gruppen hinsichtlich ihrer Trocknungseigenschaften eingeteilt.

Lichtechtheit

Mit zwei Ausnahmen (PR83.1 sowie PY3) verwenden wir in unserem Sortiment nur Pigmente mit Lichtechtheit I (7-8).