Pigments

Pigments

Color pigments are generally divided into organic and inorganic pigment types.
Both pigment types have different properties.
 
Inorganic pigments
Inorganic pigments are divided into natural and synthetic inorganic pigments.
The first group includes the earth as yellow ocher, umber or Green earth and mineral pigments such as
Azurite, Malachite, Lapis lazuli, or Cinnabar.
 
The second group includes inorganic pigments such as iron oxide pigments, cadmium, chromium, cobalt, ultramarine blue or titanium dioxide.
 

Natural inorganic pigments
Although these pigments occur naturally, modifications are often necessary for the use of artistic color systems. In most cases these pigments are processed by means of mechanical processing for so long until a fine powder is obtained.
 
We live in a modern world where the word 'natural' is usually associated with the highest quality. So you take a natural earth and refined it. The result of this, so unromantic it is, can also be physically unstable or contain impurities. It is therefore very impoartant to select only the best pigments.
 
Synthetic inorganic pigments
Not surprisingly it was for thousand of xears tried to produce improved pigments by the introduction of chemical processes. Many earth tones are therefore mixtures of iron oxide and manganese or magnesium salts, their use has led to the highest quality standards.
Between 1780 and 1900 chemists discovered gradually that zinc, chromium, cobalt, manganese, titanium and especially cadmium-based compounds are the foundation for some of the most brilliant and durable colors.
 
Organic pigments
Organic pigments can also be divided into natural and synthetic organic organic pigments.
 
Natural organic pigments
These pigments occur in nature as "animal" or "vegetable dyes".
Some historically important pigments as the color-strong Indian yellow from the urine of cows fed with mango, were replaced by the wide range of synthetic pigments in the course of the 20th century. Although the name of Indian yellow is still used, this color has been replaced by synthetic alternatives long ago.
 
The group of organic pigments include color-soluble dyes (colourants) which were fixed on substrates, such as the madder extracted from the madder root. This pigment, however, was ousted in 1868 by the synthetic Alizarin (Alizarin Madder Lake).
 
Another example is Indigo, which is obtained from the indigo plant, which was replaced by synthetic indigo starting from 1878.
 
Synthetic Organic Pigments
From the Renaissance to the modern art, great historical periods of art are often linked to the availability of new pigments and new artistic insights. Advances in science have color transformed from being a rather decorative role in one of the most fundamental issues of modern art. The development of synthetic organic pigments is significantly responsible for this transformation.
 
A distinction is made between two types of synthetic organic pigments:
Azo pigments, which are produced from tar products produced from azo dyes, and polycyclic pigments whose major portion are copper and phthalocyanine, and which is derived from phthalic acid.
 
Organic pigments achieve significantly higher color strength and brilliant shades as opposed to inorganic pigments. But due to the very low average pigment particle size, compared to inorganic pigments, they have a lower opacity and are therefore more transparent.

 

Pigment labeling

Colour Index:
The Colour Index (CI short) exists since 1925 and is the reference of all conventional colorants and dye-based chemicals and is considered a standard work in the field of pigment and dye chemistry.


Colour Index Name:
The CI Name consists of the category identifier for dye (F) or pigment (P), the general hue and a serial number for modifications. For example PB15.1, Phtaloblue, represents a specific blue pigment with reddish tone.

Colour Index Number:
Colorants are sorted by this number because of its chemical properties.  Based on this number it is therefore possible  to make rough estimations on the chemical characterization of dyes and pigments. The C.I. Number is used in official regulations. For example, the number for Phtaloblue is C.I. 74160

... Each of our paints is characterized by Pigment Type, Colour Index Name and Index Number.

Pigmente

Pigmente

 

Farbpigmente werden grundsätzlich in organische und anorganische Pigmenttypen eingeteilt. 
Beide Pigmenttypen besitzen unterschiedliche Eigenschaften.
 
Anorganische Pigmente
Anorganische Pigmente werden in natürliche und synthetisch anorganische Pigmente unterteilt.
Zur ersten Gruppe gehören Erden wie gelber Ocker, Umbra oder Grüne Erde sowie mineralische Pigmente wie Azurit, Malachit, Lapis Lazuli, oder Zinnober.
 
Zur zweiten Gruppe gehören anorganische Pigmente wie etwa Eisenoxidpigmente, Cadmium, Chromoxidgrün, Kobalt, Ultramarinblau oder Titandioxid.
 
Natürliche anorganische Pigmente
Obwohl diese Pigmente natürlich vorkommen, sind für die Verwendung von künstlerischen Farbsystemen oft Modifikationen notwendig. In den meisten Fällen werden diese Pigmente mittels mechanischer Aufbereitung so lange bearbeitet bis ein feines Pulver gewonnen wird. 
 
Wir leben in einer modernen Welt, in der das Wort "natürlich" in der Regel mit höchster Qualität verbunden wird. Man nimmt also eine natürliche Erde und verfeinert sie. Das Ergebnis davon, so unromantisch es auch ist, kann physikalisch instabil sein oder Verunreinigungen enthalten. Weshalb es sehr wichtig ist auch bei diesen Pigmenten nur die besten Sorten zu verwenden.
 
Synthetische anorganische Pigmente
Wenig überraschend wurde über Tausende von Jahren versucht verbesserte Pigmente durch die Einführung chemischer Prozesse herzustellen. Viele Erdfarben sind daher Mischungen aus Eisenoxid und Mangan- oder Magnesiumsalzen, deren Einsatz zu höchsten Qualitätsstandards geführt hat.
Zwischen 1780 und 1900 entdeckten Chemiker schrittweise, dass auf Zink, Chrom, Kobalt, Mangan, Titan und vor allem Cadmium basierende Verbindungen der Grundstein für einige der brillantesten und langlebigsten Farben sind.
 
Organische Pigmente 
Organische Pigmente werden ebenfalls in natürliche organische und synthetische organische Pigmente unterteilt.
 
Natürliche organische Pigmente
Diese Pigmente kommen in der Natur als „Tier-“ oder „Pflanzenfarben“ vor. 
Manche historisch wichtigen Pigmente, wie das farbkräftige Indischgelb aus dem Urin von mit Mango gefütterten Kühen, wurden im Laufe des 20. Jahrhunderts durch die breite Palette von synthetischen Pigmenten ersetzt. Obwohl der Name Indischgelb immer noch für Farben verwendet wird, ist diese Farbe durch synthetische Alternativen längst ersetzt worden.
 
Zur Gruppe der organischen Pigmente zählen auch Farben aus löslichen Farbstoffen (Färbemitteln) die auf Substrate fixiert wurden wie  der aus der Krappwurzel gewonnene Krapplack. Dieses Pigment wurde allerdings ab 1868 durch das synthetische Alizarin (Alizarin-Krapplack) verdrängt. 
 
Ein weiteres Beispiel ist auch Indigo welches aus der Indigopflanze gewonnen wird und ab 1878 durch synthetischen Indigo ersetzt wurde.
 
Synthetische organische Pigmente
Von der Renaissance bis zur Moderne sind große historische Perioden der Kunst häufig mit der Verfügbarkeit neuer Pigmente und neuer künstlerischer Erkenntnisse verknüpft. Fortschritte in der Farbwissenschaft haben Farbe aus einer eher dekorativen Rolle in eines der grundlegendsten Themen der modernen Kunst transformiert. Die Entwicklung synthetisch organischer Pigmente ist nicht unwesentlich dafür verantwortlich.
 
Grundsätzlich wird bei synthetisch organsichen Pigmenten zwischen zwei Typen unterschieden: 
AzoPigmente, welche von aus Teerprodukten erzeugten Azofarbstoffen hergestellt werden, sowie Polycyclische Pigmente, deren Hauptanteil aus Kupfer und Phthalocyanin, welches sich aus der Phthalsäure ableitet, besteht.
 
Mit organischen Pigmenten lassen sich im Gegensatz zu anorganischen Pigmenten deutlich höhere Farbstärken und brillantere Farbtöne erzielen. Aufgrund der im Vergleich zu anorganischen Pigmenten sehr geringen durchschnittlichen Teilchengröße besitzen sie aber eine geringere Deckkraft und sind deshalb transparenter.

 

Pigmentkennzeichnung

Colour Index:
Der Colour Index (kurz C.I.) ist ein seit 1925 existierendes Nachschlagewerk aller gebräuchlichen Farbmittel und Farbstoffbasis-Chemikalien und gilt als Standardwerk auf dem Gebiet der Pigment- und Farbstoffchemie.

 
Colour Index Name:
Der C.I.-Name besteht aus dem Kategorie Bezeichner für Farbstoff (F) oder Pigment (P), dem allgemeinen Farbton und einer Seriennummer für Modifikationen. Zum Beispiel PB15.1, Phtaloblau, steht für ein spezifisches blaues Pigment mit rötlichem Ton.
 
Colour Index Nummer:
Hier sind die Farbmittel aufgrund chemischer Eigenheiten in Nummern sortiert. Man kann somit aufgrund dieser Nummer grobe Aussagen zur chemischen Charakterisierung der Farbstoffe und Pigmente treffen. Die C.I. Nummer wird in amtlichen Verordnungen verwendet. Zum Beispiel hat Phtaloblau die Nummer C.I. 74160
 
... Jede unserer Farben wird durch Pigmenttyp, Colour Index Name sowie Index Nummer gekennzeichnet.